Lab Members

Current Lab Members:

Theresa Venello (PhD student):

Theresa is a fourth year PhD student from New Jersey, USA. She received her Bachelor’s degree in Marine Science from The Richard Stockton College of New Jersey. She then traveled to the UK to complete my Master’s degree in Marine Biology from the University of Plymouth. Her main research interests involve zooplankton ecology, food web ecology, and assessing changes in zooplankton diversity. Currently, her project within the Dower lab focuses on the creation of zooplankton functional groups from the southern shelf region off the west coast of Vancouver Island and analyzing changes in functional group diversity from 1980 to present. Additionally, she spent a considerable amount of time the first three years of her PhD at sea aboard the CCGS John P. Tully collecting crustacean zooplankton production rate data.

Matt Miller (PhD student): Matt is a fourth-year PhD student from Nanaimo, BC. He received his Bachelor of Science degree in Fisheries and Aquaculture from Vancouver Island University. Matt studies pteropods, also known as sea butterflies, and the potential impact that ocean acidification is having on them. These tiny planktonic snails have come to be known as an early indicator, or sentinel species, of the impacts of ocean acidification on marine ecosystems. To do this work he collects plankton samples and water chemistry data on oceanographic research cruises in the NE Pacific, in collaboration with the Department of Fisheries and Oceans Canada.

Pandora Gibb (MSc student): Pandora’s research interest is physical-biological coupling in marine ecosystems. In collaboration with the Department of Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Pandora is investigating the relationship between water chemistry and benthic foundation species on Canada’s Northeast Pacific seamounts, with a focus on mat-forming brittlestars. 

Chrissy Schellenberg (MSc student): Chrissy studies the impacts of climate change stressors on marine fish embryo physiology. In collaboration with the Department of Fisheries and Oceans (DFO) Canada and the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), Chrissy examined the impacts of ocean acidification and rising temperatures in a multi-stressor context on the cardio-respiratory performance of Arctic cod embryos. Currently, she is examining the cardiac performance of sablefish embryos and post-hatch larvae incubated at both high and low temperatures.

Liam Hubbert (MSc student): In collaboration with the Department of Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Liam is testing the effectiveness of recently-developed biochemical methods of measuring zooplankton secondary production. To do this, water samples will be collected during research cruises in various regions around Vancouver Island and be analyzed using enzyme assays to measure zooplankton growth and reproduction.

Daniel Labbé (MSc student): Daniel is an MSc student with broad research interests in marine ecology and ocean ecosystems. He is specifically fascinated by organisms that live in extreme or understudied environments. In collaboration with the Department of Fisheries and Oceans Canada, he is currently studying zooplankton ecology over a series of isolated seamounts off the west coast of Vancouver Island.

Lab Alumni:

Garth Covernton: PhD (2021)

Hana Gair: BSC (Honours) 2021

Emma Polard: Directed Studies (2021)

Nic Ens: BSc (Honours) 2020

Emma Pascoe: MSc (2018)

Lu Guan: PhD (2015)

Dan Bevan: MSc (2014)

Karyn Suchy: PhD (2014)

Mei Sato (with Kunze): PhD (2013)

Christina Simkanin: PhD (2013)

Jennifer Provencher: MSc (2010)

Kendra Meier: BSc-Honours (2010)

Shani Rousseau: MSc (2009)

Jennifer Tyler: MSc (2008)

Rob Ronconi: PhD (2008)

Kelly Young: MSc (2008)

Rana El-Sabaawi: PhD (2008)

Martina Beck: BSc-Honours (2008)

Akash Sastri: PhD (2007)

Janis Lloyd: BSc-Honours (2006)

Sarah Dudas: PhD (2005)

Gwang-Cheon Kim : MSc  (2005)

Kandace Parker: BSc-Honours (2005)

Tom Bird: MSc (2004)

Rob Campbell: PhD (2003)

Palmira Boutillier: BSc-Honours (2003)

Tarun Nayar: MSc (2001)

Ashleen Downes: MSc (2001)

Yin Chang: BSc-Honours (2001)

Greg Norton: BSc-Honours (2001)

Ashleen Downes: BSc-Honours (2000)

Kirsten Fleming: BSc-Honours (2000)